Where in the world?…

I spend my year dreaming about the one trip we’re taking next year.  I was hoping this year would be a bit different.  Last year included no trips abroad.  It was definitely not by design, but it was my biggest disappointment of the year.  We need to make up for that!

Our trip for 2010 was intended to be to St. Lucia in the Caribbean.  Unfortunately a hurricane hit the week before we were to travel and caused significant damage to the area we were to stay.  So, we postponed our vacation all the way to March 2011.  That meant no travel for 2010…. and it was a LONG winter here in Boston!

Originally our trip for 2011 was supposed to be to Italy.  This is the second and most likely final visit to Italy: Florence and Venice on the first trip and Rome and Amalfi Coast on this one.  Here is where my OCD planning set me up for heartbreak!  Instead of waiting to book our postponed vacation for September, the time I wanted to travel to Italy for my birthday, I re-scheduled the original trip for March to Turks and Caicos.  It was beautiful, but it just didn’t do it for me.

Mudjin Harbor, Middle Caicos

But now I don’t know if we can do Italy in September.  The bf has limited vacation time and I’m trying to eek every last bit of his time into fun stuff for me!

I started to think any trip would be better than none.  Maybe I can settle on a 5-night trip to say Barcelona or Portugal instead of the 7 to 8 nights in Italy.   Maybe I could live with that compromise…

This morning, I was at the park with Cocobear to play with the neighborhood fur babies.  I was chatting with Cocobear’s boyfriend’s owner about my recent change of plans, when a neighbor approaches and joins in the conversation, not really knowing my original destination.  “My favorite place was when we drove down the coast of Italy and just would find the most beautiful places on the Amalfi Coast…”

TORTURE!

So now what to do?  My life has halted until this decision is made!  There is nothing I would rather do than to book this trip to Italy.  The trip is planned.  I have a complete itinerary.  Do we just hold off for this year?  Next year is supposed to be Hawaii….  Where do we go if we can’t do Italy this year?  Anywhere we go still has to be the greatest!  Where in the world would you go if you could only go on a 5 night vacation?  Where is your favorite place?

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

